Changes in travel

From November 9, uniform EU travel rules with regard to the coronavirus epidemic will apply in the Czech Republic.

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) will publish a weekly map with a colour code based on the risk level - green, orange, and red. The aim of this traffic light system is to provide clarity for travellers.

Movement of citizens from countries marked in green will not be restricted anywhere in the European Union. To fit in this category, however, the countries must have less than 25 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the last two weeks, and the rate of positive tests will need to be under 4%.

States with less than 250 cases per 100,000 inhabitants and more than 4% positive tests will be in the second category. When crossing borders, foreign workers from these countries will have to submit a negative coronavirus test - with the exception of cross-border workers.

Countries will turn red on the map if they have more than 4% positive tests and more than 250 infections per 100,000 inhabitants. Foreigners and Czech citizens will have to be tested or quarantined upon arrival from these countries.

This system will change the current Czech map for travellers. While only Spain is marked in red right now, according to the Minister of Foreign Affairs Tomáš Petříček (ČSSD), most EU states will be red under the new rules. The member states will still be able to grant individual exemptions, for example to cross-border workers, students or international transport.