Spain to become a high-risk country, Greece will not request a test

Beginning 24th of August, the Ministry of Health will add Spain to the list of high-risk countries. That means that after their return, Czech tourists will either have to have a negative COVID test or will have to go into a two-week quarantine. The measure does not include the Canary Islands. In the last week, there were four cases of Czech tourists being infected by COVID in Spain.

From EU countries, there has been only Romania on the list so far but the ministry already announced that some countries might be added soon when the epidemiologic situation worsens. Among those countries could be not only Spain, but also Sweden, Bulgaria, Belgium or Portugal.

Greece has partially cancelled the measures that were supposed to come into effect on Monday - a few days ago it announced that Czech tourists and people from other countries would need a negative test before entering the country. The Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babiš (ANO) said yesterday that he managed to discuss it with the Greek Prime Minister and that Greece would cancel the measure for Czechs.

However, the Czech embassy in Athens has warned that the Greek authorities may require Czech tourists to prove themselves with a negative test that is no more than three days old in case they arrive from a country that Athens considers risky. Right now, the European Union countries are the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Sweden, Malta, Romania and Bulgaria.

More information on Greece can be found HERE.